Workshop Specialty Coffee

Workshop Specialty Coffee
1146 Glenhuntly Road
Glen Huntly
Vic 3163
+61 3 9078 9055

magic

It’s great when you start or end work early enough to visit a café. It’s even better when the café is near your workplace so you can swing by for breakfast or a mid-day coffee.

coffee
Magic

I did the latter one afternoon. Workshop Specialty Coffee is one of the many up-and-coming cafes located around my workplace. I dropped in after work for a quick cuppa and got a magic. The beans are by Cartel Roasters, which recently won Australian Roaster of the Year 2013. My magic was creamy with slight hints of chocolate. I was charmed by the little cookie served on the side and promised myself a proper visit soon.

IMG_4607IMG_4609
Piccolo latte (Single Origin)

Fast forward several weeks and I found myself back at Workshop. This time, it was early morning and I treated myself to breakfast post-work out/pre-work. I tried a single origin this time round and was informed that the boys at Workshop were lucky enough to score the first bags of Ethiopian Blue Nile and were offering it that day. It was delicious with strong hints of raspberry and chocolate and reminded me of chocolate-coated jam-filled cookies. While waiting for breakfast to be served, I admired the clean bright space of the café. Overhead lights, white facades and pretty flowers make it real easy on the eyes. One of the brothers, Jason, amicably sat across to engage in a quick chat.

My breakfast dish of shakshouka was pretty good. The tomato sauce had decent spice and was not at all watery. The yolk bled beautifully over the tender beans. It was all easily mopped up with bread and made a good vegetarian, protein-packed meal.

IMG_4612
Baked Shakshuka Eggs – Israeli inspired eggs baked on a ragu of tomato, white beans, onion, garlic, peppers with a hint of chilli $16

Workshop dishes up great food and coffee. I’m pretty sure I’ll be dragging myself out of bed a little earlier one morning for another great feed. Sacrificing sleep for the sake of a happy tummy is definitely worth it.

IMG_4613

2 Comments

Filed under Brunch, Coffee, Glen Huntly

2 responses to “Workshop Specialty Coffee

  1. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Inside idea I’d like to put in writing similar to this additionally : taking time and also actual work to make a good article but exactly what do I say I procrastinate a large amount and by simply no means appear to get something completed.

    • Aww, thanks for the kind words, they mean a lot! and yes, i do know what you mean. There are days i just sit and nothing comes and when that happens, the writing seems too forced. Take a breather and relax, i’m sure the words will come soon enough and things will get done =)

Leave a Reply

